Monday, October 29, 2012

Week 1: Day 1: Not As Easy As You Think

Today was day one of the eight week challenege. It was a rough start and I didn't do 100% everything I should of but I plan on doing better tomorrow. 

I should start by explaining how the eight week challenge works. There are certain things you have to do through out the week either every day or almost every day they are: contact team mate, drink 64 oz. of water, stop eating before 9, eat 2 fruit servings (1/2 cup), 3 vegetable servings, no sweets/sugary treats, keep a food journal, and exercise. For each of those items you get so many points. then at the end of the day you add up your points. At the end of the week you weigh your self, calculate those points and then see who won for the week. The first week you spend just getting used to having to do all of these things and then after that certain things are worth more points. 

I don't normally look so not put together, rough night
Today was my first day and it was a little rough because I am still not feeling 100 percent good yet. I drank the 64 oz of water, stopped eating before 9, ate fruit, contacted my team mate and kept a food journal. I did have a cookie but that no sweets or sugary treats are for 6 out of the 7 days so the rest of the week I just can't eat that stuff. I also didn't exercise. At the end of the day my boyfriend and I broke up and I was kind of upset so tomorrow I will have to really get into this. I think that this first week could be the most difficult because its having to get used to all of the changes. I do like the fact that I am drinking so much water so I am pretty much cutting everything else out like pop, alcohol, and sugary juices; water and milk are about all I am drinking. 

The reasons I am doing this are: I want to be in better shape, want to be healthy, want to get back down to what I used to weigh or close, and to feel better about myself in general. I think a lot of people do this for the wrong reason(s), which makes me believe that it is harder to get the weight off and/or keep it off. You should want to lose weight to be healthy, that should at least be the main reason. This could be a tad bit more difficult for me because I am a college student, living in the dorm, and eating college food. I have to be extremely committed to this. That is why I am writing this blog, well one of the reasons. I believe that by having to write every day it will keep me more accountable for staying on track. I am also doing this to help other people realize they can do this by doing self control and not having to do a strict diet; along with the fact that I am a college student and this could help kids realize what they can do to get into shape. This 8 weight challenge by the six sister stuff could be an awesome thing for a bunch of girls on a dorm floor to do. Getting in shape with someone is always easier than just doing it alone. 

I think it is a good idea for people who really want to be serious about this to keep a food journal so you can see what you are eating every day and try to eliminate items that are bad for you or to keep track of when you are eating. I also think that it is smart to write down your starting weight and then your target weight and to keep track of your weight loss some where. For me, I am keeping track of my weight loss on a white board that is up on the back of my door. I have about 100 pounds that I want to lose by the time this is all said and done. I am going to post two pictures of me now that show what I am at and then as I lose I will keep the pictures updated. I feel kind of weird about posting these pictures but then I think about when people are on the biggest loser and how they weigh in front of so many people, at least I am not doing that. 

No comments:

Post a Comment