Friday, November 23, 2012

Happy Holidays A Day Late

Well this blog may not really relate to my diet. Just has to do about holidays.

I hope all of you guys had a Happy Thanksgiving and a safe one. Starting Monday I am going full throttle with my getting fit plan. I am proud of myself for how well I did when it came to eating on Thanksgiving though. I portioned everything out well and didn't over eat.

I had a fun day at my dads yesterday but when I got to my moms things were a little rough. Me and my little sister had quiet a bonding night last night. I told her all about my abortion and what I had gone through. For the past two years I thought she would hate me for it but she cried and said she wished that she had been able to be there for me and that I was a strong girl because a lot of girls couldn't of made the choice I did, especially with the situation I was put in. I was just really surprised because she is so against them. I feel better now knowing that she knows.

I got some cute things during Black Friday shopping last night. My mom, sister, and I went out to Target and Old Navy. At Target I bought these cute navy blue moccasins that were sequins and a nine dollar vacuum and then at Old Navy I bought a nine dollar fleece sweatshirt thing and a solid pink sweatshirt. They were all cute and not overly priced. I have gone out on Black Friday a few times before but I have never been somewhere as crazy as Old Navy was last night. We stood in line to check out for, forever.

Today I had to go to the doctor for my foot though and he gave me a shot of Tordall in my arm and it hurt so bad and still hurts. I think it also made me kind of nauseous too.

Well starting Monday I will be doing my getting fit and not straying and writing once a day.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Fell Off The Wagon

Okay so I have been super busy and going through a lot so I kind of fell off the train but I am get back on this week even through Thanksgiving. I haven't been following the eight week challenge but I still have managed to lose four pounds :)

My boyfriend and I of almost a year broke up last week and before we finally broke up things were getting ugly. He was always yelling at me and we were fighting a lot. That took a toll on me and then I got the flu, that was not pretty. But I am home for my fall break and am getting back on track starting tomorrow by doing Zumba.

Pumpkin Empanada
So I tried a new recipe yesterday and it is the recipe from the six sisters website for pumpkin empanadas. I was a little skeptical about them but they are really good. They are tortilla, cream cheese, pumpkin puree and then you fry them. They aren't to bad for you, of course they are kind of bad because of being fried, but its just a quick fry to get them golden brown and they don't really soak up the oil and they aren't greasy.

Well I promise that I will start writing every day, but that is all I have for now.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Week 1: Day 2: A Whole Lot Better

Well day two went a lot better then day one did. I met a ton of the daily goals, still missed a couple but it is slowly getting better. I am also feeling better which makes me have more energy.

So today was a tad bit stressful but I still managed to meet the goals of: drinking 64 oz of water, stopped eating before 9, ate vegies and fruit, haven't had any sweets, kept a food journal and worked out for a half hour.  I think the most interesting thing I did had to eat today was a small portion of mashed potato's  some peas, and then beef something or other I didn't eat the broth or the mushrooms because I don't like mushrooms but I ate the beef mixed with my potato's and then I had a cup of pineapple.  It looks like a lot of food but it really wasn't especially the beef part, the sauce part that spread out made it look like a lot.

So I have decided that the hardest part about eating in the dorm cafeteria is the fact that you don't know the exact portion you are giving your self so you have to kind of eye ball it and then guess how much you should have. I know what I should and shouldn't eat so in that way it helps. Then tonight I was thirsty so I went and got a meal bundle but got stuff I could put in my fridge and eat tomorrow. I got a little sun dried tomato sandwich, two low fat yogurts, and a little bag of baby carrots.

Fun Face of the day: Baby carrots are a power food so they will help keep you full longer. :)

Well I think that is probably it for now.

Have a nice night everyone :)

Monday, October 29, 2012

Week 1: Day 1: Not As Easy As You Think

Today was day one of the eight week challenege. It was a rough start and I didn't do 100% everything I should of but I plan on doing better tomorrow. 

I should start by explaining how the eight week challenge works. There are certain things you have to do through out the week either every day or almost every day they are: contact team mate, drink 64 oz. of water, stop eating before 9, eat 2 fruit servings (1/2 cup), 3 vegetable servings, no sweets/sugary treats, keep a food journal, and exercise. For each of those items you get so many points. then at the end of the day you add up your points. At the end of the week you weigh your self, calculate those points and then see who won for the week. The first week you spend just getting used to having to do all of these things and then after that certain things are worth more points. 

I don't normally look so not put together, rough night
Today was my first day and it was a little rough because I am still not feeling 100 percent good yet. I drank the 64 oz of water, stopped eating before 9, ate fruit, contacted my team mate and kept a food journal. I did have a cookie but that no sweets or sugary treats are for 6 out of the 7 days so the rest of the week I just can't eat that stuff. I also didn't exercise. At the end of the day my boyfriend and I broke up and I was kind of upset so tomorrow I will have to really get into this. I think that this first week could be the most difficult because its having to get used to all of the changes. I do like the fact that I am drinking so much water so I am pretty much cutting everything else out like pop, alcohol, and sugary juices; water and milk are about all I am drinking. 

The reasons I am doing this are: I want to be in better shape, want to be healthy, want to get back down to what I used to weigh or close, and to feel better about myself in general. I think a lot of people do this for the wrong reason(s), which makes me believe that it is harder to get the weight off and/or keep it off. You should want to lose weight to be healthy, that should at least be the main reason. This could be a tad bit more difficult for me because I am a college student, living in the dorm, and eating college food. I have to be extremely committed to this. That is why I am writing this blog, well one of the reasons. I believe that by having to write every day it will keep me more accountable for staying on track. I am also doing this to help other people realize they can do this by doing self control and not having to do a strict diet; along with the fact that I am a college student and this could help kids realize what they can do to get into shape. This 8 weight challenge by the six sister stuff could be an awesome thing for a bunch of girls on a dorm floor to do. Getting in shape with someone is always easier than just doing it alone. 

I think it is a good idea for people who really want to be serious about this to keep a food journal so you can see what you are eating every day and try to eliminate items that are bad for you or to keep track of when you are eating. I also think that it is smart to write down your starting weight and then your target weight and to keep track of your weight loss some where. For me, I am keeping track of my weight loss on a white board that is up on the back of my door. I have about 100 pounds that I want to lose by the time this is all said and done. I am going to post two pictures of me now that show what I am at and then as I lose I will keep the pictures updated. I feel kind of weird about posting these pictures but then I think about when people are on the biggest loser and how they weigh in front of so many people, at least I am not doing that. 

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Late

Just so ya'll know. I was planning on starting this last week but ended up having some health issues with my breathing. I ended up in the emergency room last Tuesday and am finally getting it under control so I plan on starting this up tomorrow.

Again I am going to start by trying out the Six Sisters Stuff, 8 week challenge plan and then see how that works and go from there. :)

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Post before it gets tough :)

Well this is my first post for this blog. Tomorrow starts the beginning of me getting back into shape and healthy again. When I was younger I was pretty small and such a cutie. Well I am still a cutie but I have gained a few extra pounds and want to see my love handles gone. I also want to feel better about myself and I want to live for a long time so I just need to get back in shape in order to be healthy and happy.

I used to think that I needed to lose weight to be pretty but that is not the case and I never really could stick with a work out plan and stuff when I thought that way. If you are wanting to get healthy that is awesome, it will help you stick with your work out plan and eating healthy, but if you are doing it just to be pretty it may not always help your determination to stick it through. I want to lose almost half my goal weight if not more by this summer. I want to lose a total of 100 ish pounds. I am going to use this blog every day to write about the tough and good points and any ideas that help me or work.

I think that using this blog will help me stick with losing weight and getting healthy. I am going to be doing the first eight weeks by using the Six Sisters Stuff 8 week work out challenge and see how that goes first.